The problem is still happening though; when I click on a thread I noticed that the CPU goes up to 100% and apparently that is why I can't scroll anything because the CPU is busy. It stays at around 100% for several seconds while loading something; that's why I suspect the ads; the threads shouldn't use all that CPU to load should they? Anyway, I don't think this should be normal but I wonder if adding more memory would help?

Yes adding more memory will help. I doubt it is the ads that cause the issue it sounds more like an issue with project playlist in and of itself. I am by no means an expert on the mechanics of project playlist and trying to find out about it is like hunting for a needle in a haystack. However, if you say the issue only occurs when you use project playlist then you might conder posing your question to the project playlist folks.