Hey people :) Something strange happened to my home PC a couple of weeks back, I have been using it for about 9 months or so and have not upgraded any hardware, not played around inside or anything. It has not been connected to the internet for months and iI have NOT installed any software on it for a few months either. So, basically I was going about my business using the PC, everything was as normal, when suddenly it blue screened on me then reset itself. Now every time I turn it on I am presented with the screen which asks me to choose from the following options if I want to load windows:

safe mode
safe mode with networking
safe mode command prompt
last known good configuration.
start windows normally.

None of these options work, and if for instance I choose, safe mode/last known good or start normally, it brings up the XP boot/loading screen but as soon as that fades away it quickly flashes to a bluescreen that I dont have time to read before resetting and starting the whole process again.

I cant even get a command prompt.

Any ideas? :cry:

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

reinstall windows...

It could be Overheating ,make sure that the back fan in the power supply is running when you bootup,open case and make sure that l fans are not plugged with dirt ,leave the case cove off and try booting again.

If it's a corruption of the operating system, you can try to facilitate a repair by booting into rescue mode from the Windows installation CD and seeing if you can do an automatic repair.

if windows is the problem i would just reinstall it... it's alot faster then trying to repair it
a fresh windows works better anyway

Okay, I hadn't actually tried to reinstall via XP disk yet :o , so I guess that's my next avenue... thanks!

If you dont want to relaod windows and want want to try to get your sys back... you can......

1. Boot To the Xp Cd
2. Go to recovery console