Hi, This is a great site. I'm still a newbie techie so bear with me. I Finally bought an XP upgrade for Win 98 a couple days ago and so far I'am very happy and pleased and wonder why I didnt upgrade long ago. I have never seen a pop-up since, it is quiet as a mouse. However I have two (2) questions

When I boot up it goes to a black screen that asked me what operating system I want to use. It lists "Microsoft Windows XP home edition" TWICE. When I click on the first one it goes to the one that is working correctly. When I click on the second Win XP O.S it goes to about the half way point of the installation process and ask me to insert the Win XP CD. How do I get that non functional operating system off there?

Second question. I save all of my documents and briefcase stuff on a Yahoo e-mail as a back up. When I installed XP over 98 it did say that I might lose everything in my documents and all my other files if I install so I thought I lost everything in documents or briefcase. I was looking on the harddrive and I found another documents that had all my files from win 98 I was over joyed but I looked for my files that were in my briefcase but could not find them. Could they be somewhere around? I have not installed any windows office software yet. Thank you

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

the reason they were not deleted was because you opted not to convert over to the ntfs file system when you installed your winxp system, but you instead kept fat32, the only drawback to this is that there is no security on your files, however this may not even be an issue for you.