We're running an old but critical DOS application on a Windows XP network. There is a printer connected to the server (Windows Server 2003) that is accessed by networked computers. To do this, we've been using the following in a batch file: c:\windows\system32\net use lpt1 \\Server\Label /y (The server is named Server and the printer is named Label).
We've now got a new Windows 7 machine that needs to access this printer, and apparently Net Use has different requirements. I'm a complete Win7 noob, but I need to make this work. The closest I've gotten is: c:\windows\system32\net use lpt1 \\Server\Label /USER:{workgroup}\{username}{password} I'm getting a system error 5 - access denied. This IS the correct user name and password for the user.
I can't disable lpt1 - there's a necessary local printer there.
Does anyone have a clue what the problem might be?

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

Sounds like you are trying to run the script or command without elevated privileges.

Try running the same batch file "As Administrator" and see what you get.

Even though you are sending credentials to connect to the remote resource, you may not be running the command to edit lpt1 with the correct privileges on the local machine.

Good thought, but there's only one user set up on that machine at this point - Administrator. Credentials are set up in Administrator for the Server with the user's user name and password. I'm not familiar with Windows 7, but I must be missing something. I'm not sure what else I can do to correct the privileges.

i didnt see you had an lpt1 already.

try:

net use lpt2 \\server\share

Nope. I got a message about 'Multiple connections to a server by the same user, using more than one user name...'. Dang. So close.

Well, that seems to tell me that the lpt2 is trying to configure itself, but now you have multiple connctions to the same host.