The power optons on my XP Pro SP3 IE8 laptop will not let me change the options back to default when I click on the standby or hybernation.
Want it to stay online while at idle & not ask me for a password everytime once it shuts down with the lid open. Tried System Restore to a later date & still no help.
Don't want to do a System Repair if not need be.
Tried all other options to get it to work but to no avail can I do it.
Not familiar with the power save options for laptop or the other power options to select.
Any help would be appreciated.
Its driving me crazy!!
Thank's!
David

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Thank's Rik from RCE!
I am well aware of performing tasks in DM.
I repair computer's & I am a computer consultant in my spare time.
I'll have a looksee at the DM & see if there's something up with it soon.
Maybe it's an issue in the bio's as well.
I hope I explained my issue with the power options well enough.
I just can't reset the passward & go in & uncheck or check the box & make it work for me.
It will let me put a checkmark in the box or remove it but it goes back to everytime when the laptop is at idle to the password window after sitting for a while when i'm not using it with the lid open.
Tried putting the sceensaver to "none" just to be sure.
A Avira virus scan might be a solution too.
Thank's for your tips & link!
David

Hmmm, perhaps a third party screen saver is to blame???

Thank's!
No 3rd party screen savers. Don't like the email spam it sends to my inbox.
I get enough of that spam anyway.
Do have some desktop picture's from my pic folder that somehow gets put on my desktop selections.
Have to do somemore tinkering once I get my laptop to work.
My Gateway goes to work with me & back home everyday on a regular basis for working projects.

I also am a computer technician btw, if it was mine I'd give it a full scan with mbam to see if there are any nasties hiding somewhere!