:sad: I need some help/// Just purchased a used ibm t22 thinkpad at a business bankruptsy sale. got home, turned it on, and the darn thing keeps asking me for an administrator login and password. is there a work around??? I think it's XP Professional.

Recommended Answers

All 27 Replies

If I was to purchase a pc and got the same problem, i'd probably just reformat the whole thing and start with a fresh install of my own choice of OS. that's only if it was me...

Thanks, but keep in mind I'm new at this. So how do I install a new os if I'm locked out the the computer. All I keep getting is a message about contacting administrator, not having administrator rights, or in the administrator group.:cry:

Thanks, but keep in mind I'm new at this. So how do I install a new os if I'm locked out the the computer. All I keep getting is a message about contacting administrator, not having administrator rights, or in the administrator group.

There are a number of ways to get around this. One is to boot fropm a live Linux CD like Knoppix. There are boot floppies that do the same thing. Can't remember where I saw them; I'll look and report back.

Also remember: "Google is your friend."

If I was to purchase a pc and got the same problem, i'd probably just reformat the whole thing and start with a fresh install of my own choice of OS. that's only if it was me...

I think I'd have to agree on this, just reformat. It's probably the quickest and easiest way to get the system usable again. Find a copy of WinXP (or any OS of your choice) and boot from CD. There really shouldn't be any problems with doing that.

Quick question: Do you have a 'restore' disk or a disk that looks like it may be an OS disk (i.e. WinXP, Win2000, or Win98?)