Hello,
Im new to this post and frankly im not as comp litterate as I'd like to be.
I have 2 problems and think both may be related.
here are my syst specs before I state the probs.

Win XP pro (upgraded from 98 SE 3 weeks ago)
Amd Athalon 1.29 Ghz processor
256 MB SD Ram
32/64 MB Radeon RV100 Graphics Accelerator
Dialup isp (downgraded from cable)

#1 I play a very popular online RPG game and sometimes (mostly evenings)
when Im in certain areas of the game, I freeze up. I can hear things going on around me in game sometimes but im frozen on screen and cant do anything. I end up having to hit crtl+alt+delete to get out of game. When i try to log back in, it seems to stay frozen till I reboot my syst.
Im not sure if its my comp or the dialup thats causing this. I never had this prob with cable but also didnt have XP at that time,and havent upgraded any new components in my comp.

#2 Alot of times my comp lags so bad on and offline that i have to reboot my syst. just to open IExplorer. (also didnt have these probs till i downgraded to dialup and upgraded to XP. This has only been happening for about a week now. I also noticed that my processor is running at 100% with 20 processes running. But since im not that litterate I have no clue if that affects anything.
I have also run Spy-Bot S&D just to see if I have anything slowing me down but Nothing has helped

I cant afford to buy a new syst at the moment or upgrade any parts but I thought what I have was sufficient.

Any help is greatly appreciated And maybe It will keep me from tossing this out the window
Thanks

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Member Avatar for TKSS

Graphics card. You're running a R100 32/64MB (which one you have? 32MB or 64MB?) which is up to DX8 compatible. If you are running a graphics rich environ game...you're going to be pushing the envelope for your card. Since cards are getting pretty inexpensive...I'd go for an upgrade.