Hello all,

I am new to this site and I am a complete novice and know little when it comes to the workings of the inside of a computer.

I have a Toshiba Satellite Pro 6100 (I know I heard about all the problems)

When I bought it through the College I was attending everything worked fine.. this was 3 years ago..

Now on start up I get this

IDE ERROR #1

and my DVD/CD/RW is not detected
at first .. all I had to do was pull it out and push it back in.
(there is a little switch that releases it from the computer no screws necessary)

now That does not even work.. I get lucky every now and again and my computer reads the drive.. but most of the time I can not.

As stated this was the DVD/CD/RW that came with the computer and is not new..

I believe it is a Toshiba drive :?:
Part # ZA2431P03 Serial # 2LCHA054354 TB7-A :eek:
model # UJDA720

DVD-ROM & CD-R/RW Drive

(this information taken from drive it'self)

Is there a fix for my problem?
I heard in another forum something about the 45 and 47 pin???

All I have on this is the female part that goes into the computer..

any information would be very helpful..
and I hope that someday I can be useful on the site too..

Thanks in advance..

Ken Xander
xanderkm@hotmail.com

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

When you say that you pull it out and push it back in do you turn on the computer after it's out, turn off the computer and push it back in and then restart your computer? If not, try doing that and see if the drive is recognized as new hardware.

Your IDE cable should be a 40 pin connector. The UJDA720 is a Panasonic which is a DVD-ROM/CD-RW.

When you say that you pull it out and push it back in do you turn on the computer after it's out, turn off the computer and push it back in and then restart your computer? If not, try doing that and see if the drive is recognized as new hardware.

Your IDE cable should be a 40 pin connector. The UJDA720 is a Panasonic which is a DVD-ROM/CD-RW.

Thank you for the Reply..