Okay, my problem is this, my computer (HP) will turn on and does the usual beep to notify that it's working. A few seconds after that it just keeps beeping repeatedly, the CD drive opens and closes when I hit the button, the monitor shows the normal HP Pavillion startup screen (but won't change), and the mouse and keyboard won't respond. The Repair CDs won't work without the keyboard. Any help would be accepted! Keep answers simple please because I'm new to how to fix things like this.

Recommended Answers

All 19 Replies

Hello Atticus239.

When the computer first turns on dose it give you the option to enter the Bios or boot options. It will usually be on the bottom of the screen.

You should unplug it from the wall and let it sit for a few mins then try it again.

Check all the wires in the back of the computer and also check to make sure the case is locked in place.

Let me know if this helps.

Tech TJ

It says F1<setup> F10<restore> if that's what you mean. But I can't use it because of the keyboard.
Unplugging it and checking the wires was one of the first things I did lol I just forgot to mention it.

If the keyboard is a good and you check everything.
OK Do you know where the ram is.
If you do then open the computer up and check to make sure that the sticks of ram are in and locked. This is a hardware problem because it starts before any software is loaded. Because this happens so early in the process the first thing to check is the Ram.

Let me know if you need help
Tech TJ

TechTJ is correct that this is a hardware problem,

first thing i'd try, before opening the case, would be using a different keyboard...

do the CAPS LOCK & SCROLL LOCK lights on the keyboard come on when the power is first turned on?? if so they should blink back off quickly.....

if that is happening then the keyboard is probably OK... which would point to a bad piece of hardware....

I've seen malfunctioning/ damaged modems cause PCs to hang up the POST (power on self test)