My brother got a laptop the other day and i have been having some trouble setting it up with our existing wireless network. I have a laptop that is about 3 years old and a D-Link wireless router. I could get my brothers laptop to connect to the router but if he turned the laptop off then back on, it would fail to reconnect. It seems to be working now but i'm not really sure why.
See bottom of post for technical details. I will add details if necessary and when i am able (i.e. if i'm not at work).

I am no expert when it comes to networking, it's not really my thing. So i have a few questions which i am not sure if they are a problem.

Firstly, what could be the problem with my brother's laptop? A while ago i was having trouble with my laptop's connection and found that updating it's wireless card driver. Would doing the same with my brother's help?

Second, i have noticed that the DNS Suffix is "domain.invalid". Is that bad? I don't really know what that means so please indicate how i can elaborate on that so you guys can better diagnose the problem.

Third, i was also trying to set up file sharing between both computers. I eventually figured out that i had to allow it in Norton's firewall, but when googling i read that i should set each laptop's ip (i.e. static) as 192.168.0.x. But when i did that i could no longer access the internet. What's the difference between static and dynamic and why the difference?

Details:
Wireless router: D-Link DI-524 802.11g
My laptop: OS: Windows XP SP3, Wireless card: Intel PRO/Wireless 2915ABG
Brother's laptop: OS: Windows Vista (Home Premium i think), i'll check the hardware specs when i get the chance

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies