Hello everyone, I am new to the forums and quite new to the IT on a bit more serious level.

I decided to set up a wireless connection at home in order to have wi-fi on my iPhone. No problem with that after some time spent, I settled it up. However, after I checked up the possibilities that wi-fi can offer some additional questions occurred. I share with my father the same internet connection, however he has a notebook and he is using it at home occasionally, mostly I am the one who is using the internet. When I was a total noob who only played games, I called technicians from my ISP to settle my connection. So they gave us 2 different IP addresses, and the main is in my father's room. Instead of modem I have a switch, and as I understood 3 cables: the internet cable, cable to my pc, cable to my father's notebook also we are paying additionally to our ISP for the second IP address, but after I checked the wi-fi possibilities, I think there is no need to pay a fee to ISP, since I can simply put on a wireless network my father's notebook which is used at home occasionally.
Another thing is that the wireless router works only when I have plugged it to the switch, if I plug it directly to my PC it does not set the internet connection. As I understood the switch serves as a modem in this case. So to sum it up, can you please give me advice – what would be the best solution in my case. Currently, I think I have to change the switch to a modem.

I am using:

switch: Repotec rp-1708k
wireless router: Belkin f5d7234-4-H V5
direct connection type: cable

Thank you in advance.

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies