I've been using Sygate Personal Firewall for a few years now but the company no longer exists, or it works for Symantec, or I don't know...

Anyway, I tried McAfee, ZonaAlarm, Tiny, Kerio, Windows Firewall and I'm going to try F-Secure now.

I'd like to hear your thoughts about firewalls... I loved Sygate for it's simplicity and effectiveness, and I was told that F-Secure is very much like Sygate.

Contributors
Replies
Views
11 Years
Discussion Span
Last Post by BullHorn

Eh, I can't figure a way to edit my previous post... Sorry about that.

F-Secure asks to uninstall programs like NOD32, Ad-Aware and Spysweeper. I'm fine with removing Ad-Aware and Spysweeper if the firewall can do their job, but removing NOD32?

NEVER!

Gah... No replies caused me to do an insane action.

I installed F-Secure afterall and it's not bad at all, actually, I like it way more than I liked Kerio/ZA/Norton/McAfee/Outpost, etc.

The only firewall except Sygate that I liked more than F-Secure was Prisma but I had some issues with it (Even though I allowed a program, for example mIRC, I couldn't use all the mIRC functions, for example DCC -- it has to open random ports to send/recieve but for some reason Prisma blocked it and I have not idea how to make it work :( ).

Well, I changed my mind. The autoupdate of F-Secure was nasty and it was really heavy on the system. Considering I had to remove NOD32, I got some crappy antivirus in return.

I'm now trying Comodo. Tididididid!