Hi,

I am new to SEO so my apologies if this question is overly simple.

One of my clients recieved a link request from a company who have websites A and B, both of which have a higher pagerank than my client's site. They want my client to link to A and will put a link to my client's site on B.

What I wondered was...
1. Is this seen by Google as ethical?
2. Would my client be penalised or would they benefit from this type of link?

Thanks in advance.

Helen

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Hi,

I am new to SEO so my apologies if this question is overly simple.

One of my clients recieved a link request from a company who have websites A and B, both of which have a higher pagerank than my client's site. They want my client to link to A and will put a link to my client's site on B.

What I wondered was...
1. Is this seen by Google as ethical?
2. Would my client be penalised or would they benefit from this type of link?

Thanks in advance.

Helen

Tell your client to delete link requests.

I would not exchange links like this either. Google wouldn't approve, though they'd likely never find it. I wouldn't do it because I only link out to something that's relevant and helpful to a visitor. There are other ways to build your inbound links.

Thanks for the replies. The other website owner's sites have content that is relevant to my client's site. Should I still give this a miss?
Are link exchanges a waste of time then? They seem to be recommended in a few of the seo books I have read, but they do seem to take up an inordinate amount of time. Any advice on a reliable reading source for seo would really be appreciated.

Three way links used to be hot a couple of years ago when reciprocal linking seemed to lose it's SEO boost. But now what you want are one way links.