Hi everyone,

I just received my very first chargeback & obviously I'm not happy.

As we all know, fraud is everywhere.

This particular customer is in the UK.

What I need to do even though I have been avoiding it, is to sign up for a fraud protection service that is reliable & actually works. Can you please recommend sites/services that you have used that work.

Also, when you have overseas customers & you are in the States, how do you protect yourself?

Do you insist on a real e-mail address instead of the freebie ones?

Do you call the customer first to verify their phone number?

I was on medium protection b/c of out of States customers & his address still verified.

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks & have a great wknd.

Michelle :)

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

I see this thread is getting no response, so I'll try and jump in.

Far short of being an expert, I'd recommend you use a service like PayPal. PayPal obviously doesn't accept chargebacks, and should provide a safety net against fraud for you.

Manually processing orders to make sure they don't seem fishy is a great way to detect fraud, and from what I've heard, will filter most of it out.

Knock on wood, I've never been a victim of fraud. Good luck Michelle!!

Hi Danny,

Sorry I haven't responded to this thread in a while.

Just so you are aware, Pay Pal does allow people to commit fraud on Pay Pal & it happened to me & Pay Pal just took my money believing the fraudulent customer & not even caring what kind of evidence I had, so who ever told you Pay Pal is safe wasn't aware of how Pay Pal operates & all of the problems that can insue.

You can check out this site for more info if you want... www.paypalsucks.com

I'm still waiting for my money back after the large settlement Pay Pal had to dole out b/c of all the people who sued.