hiya im pretty new to the whole scene of building computers and iv spent an awful lot of money on my system and im a bit stuck what i should do next..it may be a simple answer it may not but thanks for reading it anyway :)

My motherboard and CPU is an AMD Dual Core 5000 Athlon 64 motherboard bundle.
i have an optical drive (DVD and CD)
HDD (Hitachi deskstar) 400GB. 'Sata'
2GB of RAM

i have the priorities set up correctly i think, the Optical as the master & the HDD as the slave.

The computer recognises all the hardware but when i boot up i get as far as the screen saying

'disk boot failure, insert system disk and press enter'

i feel i need to buy Vista OS but is it as that stage i should begin installing it?

Thankyou Darkstar69

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

If your hard drive does not have an OS installed, then install one you must.

Installing an OS requires formatting the drive, so make sure there's nothing on there you want before hand. With a 400GB drive, I'd think about making 2 or 3 partitions, with windoze on one, and storge on the other(s). You do this at the start of the install process.

A google search may help explain some of these things.

hiya im pretty new to the whole scene of building computers and iv spent an awful lot of money on my system and im a bit stuck what i should do next..it may be a simple answer it may not but thanks for reading it anyway :)

My motherboard and CPU is an AMD Dual Core 5000 Athlon 64 motherboard bundle.
i have an optical drive (DVD and CD)
HDD (Hitachi deskstar) 400GB. 'Sata'
2GB of RAM

i have the priorities set up correctly i think, the Optical as the master & the HDD as the slave.

The computer recognises all the hardware but when i boot up i get as far as the screen saying

'disk boot failure, insert system disk and press enter'

i feel i need to buy Vista OS but is it as that stage i should begin installing it?

Thankyou Darkstar69