hey guyz,
well i am quite new to the geeky thing, i have got a intel 845GLLY motherboard and 256 gb of ram with p-iv 1.8 GHz processor. i need to know that if i can increase my ram to 1 gb, is there be any problem in the performance of my machine or i have to get the upgraded processor and motherboard.

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

Here are the specs on that board, it should be able to support up to 2GB of 133 mem

Intel Desktop Board D845GLLY - motherboard - micro ATX - i845GL
General
MPN: BOXD845GLLY, KD845GLLYLPAK10, BOXD845GLLYL, BLKD845GLLYL, BLKD845GLLY, KD845GLLYPAK10

Product Type: Motherboard

Form Factor: Micro ATX

Width: 23.4 cm

Depth: 20.8 cm

Compatible Processors: Celeron, Pentium 4

Processor Socket: Socket 478

Chipset Type: Intel 845GL

Max Bus Speed: 400 MHz

BIOS Type: AMI

Storage Controller: ATA-100

Max Processor Speed: 2.4 GHz

Processor
Installed Qty (Max Supported): 0 ( 1 )

Memory
Supported RAM Technology: SDRAM

Supported RAM Integrity Check: Non-ECC

RAM Installed ( Max ): 0 MB / 2 GB (max) - DIMM 168-PIN

RAM Technology: SDRAM - non-ECC - 133 MHz, SDRAM

Supported RAM Speed: PC133

RAM Features: Unbuffered

Video
Graphics Controller: AGP - Intel Extreme Graphics, Intel Extreme Graphics

Video Memory: Shared Video Memory (UMA)

Audio
Audio Output: Sound card - PCI, Sound card

Signal Processor: Intel 845GL

Sound Output Mode: Stereo - 20-bit, Stereo, Stereo - 16-bit

Max Sample Rate: 48 kHz

Compliant Standards: AC '97

hey guyz,
well i am quite new to the geeky thing, i have got a intel 845GLLY motherboard and 256 gb of ram with p-iv 1.8 GHz processor. i need to know that if i can increase my ram to 1 gb, is there be any problem in the performance of my machine or i have to get the upgraded processor and motherboard.

Really depends on your operating system and what you are using your computer for.