Hi
I wonder if anyone can help. I have a Dell Inspiron 7500 with an Intel Pentium 3 processor, 601 MHZ. 128mb of RAM and Windows XP Professional. I bought this cheaply recently on EBAY just as a project to play around with. I have never worked on a laptop before so I am very new to this.
The laptop works well and is in good condition considering its age. It hasn’t been online for a few years and so has not been receiving Windows updates and looks really outdated. I haven’t tried getting it online yet. There is a faint wavery line running down the centre of the screen when it’s on and wonder if this is to do with the screen or the graphics? The screen is definitely not cracked.
I would like to know how I could improve it to the maximum possible. What processor if any, can I put in? How much memory can I go up to? Should I put in a new Windows XP if it will take it? What do I need to have a wireless connection to the desktop set up I have? Is there anything else I could do to make it good?
I would love to do this. Sorry for posing such amateur questions and thank you in advance to anyone who is willing to help me. (Simple terms please!)
Regards, Jackie

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Hi
I wonder if anyone can help. I have a Dell Inspiron 7500....I bought this cheaply recently on EBAY .... There is a faint wavery line running down the centre of the screen when it’s on and wonder if this is to do with the screen or the graphics? Regards, Jackie

Hi Jackie,

That's why it was on EBAY.

As to the rest of your questions, the processor is fixeed - can't change that. RAM - you should be able to put in upto 5112MB on that model.

Also try connecting an external screen to see if the wavy line still occurs.

Hi Suspishio,