Hey guys,

Alright im trying to build a gaming computer and I want to get all the parts ordered by Tuesday. I havent had luck with other sites on helping me setup a decent system, so im trying here. I have a sense of what I want, but im not sure on somethings. Im basically a noob to computer building that wants to overclock. Heres how she looks... I wouldnt mind trying to save some money but if not thats okay.

Asus Striker Extreme (Good with SLI?)
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Quad Core Processor
BFG GeForce 8800GTS OC2 580MHZ 640MB 1.7GHZ GDDR3 PCI-E
Thermalright Ultra 120 extreme
Scythe S-Flex SFF21F/E (1200rpm) (x2)
Mushkin XP PC2-6400 4GB 2X2GB DDR2-800 CL4-4-4-12 - (will this RAM work for that MoBo? What OZ RAM would you guys ecommend?)
Corsair TX750W 750W ATX 12V Power Supply
Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate Edition
Sound Blaster X-FI Xtremegamer FATAL1TY Sound Card 7.1 PCI
Western Digital Raptor 150GB Sata 10KRPM
Antec 900 Case
D-Link DGL-4500 Wireless Gaming Router (This computer will not be the host computer for the router? What adapter would work good with this router? ps I have to go wireless :(

What do you guys think?

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

Mobo is a beast, maybe overkill. Do make sure the Quad core will work with it, check Asus' website carefully (and specifically the BIOS version requirement list which lists is the actual list of supported CPUs, not the list in the manual (that's currently biting me, manual hints CPU should work, BIOS list says it doesn't).

Don't know the cooler. I purchased an Asus Silent Knight (you'd need a Silent Knight II I think). A beast, rather expensive, but very very good and you likely won't need those 2 chassis fans.

For the RAM check the mobo specs. I'd go for Kingston myself, if you're building a system with the other components you're looking at.

PSU may be overkill, which can cause heat trouble. Think 600W.