Hi all,I am a complete novice but here goes.When I try to click on a link such as to make a credit card payment,I get page not displayed.Also when trying to download IE update from microsoft I get "your current security settings prohibit running activex controls on this page as a result the page may not display correctly" I have even reduced my security settings to the minimum and can still do nothing.Is it possible to delete and re-install IE?Any help appreciated.
Thanks

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

in the security settings click on custon level and check of to enable/disable what ever activex you want to run and not run,don't just lower the level .

Hi all,I am a complete novice but here goes.When I try to click on a link such as to make a credit card payment,I get page not displayed.Also when trying to download IE update from microsoft I get "your current security settings prohibit running activex controls on this page as a result the page may not display correctly" I have even reduced my security settings to the minimum and can still do nothing.Is it possible to delete and re-install IE?Any help appreciated.
Thanks

I hope this will help (expanding on caperjack's advice):
To get access to the ActiveX controls in Internet Explorer, Open IE, click on Tools, click on Internet Options, click on the Security tab, click on the Custom Level button (near the bottom). Scroll down a bit to ActiveX controls and plug-ins; here you will have several options. Keep in mind that if you Enable all the options, you are leaving your system open to unwanted intrusions.

Here is how I have my settings:
Download signed ActiveX controls -- Prompt
Download unsigned ActiveX controls -- Disable
Initialize and script ActiveX controls not marked as safe -- Disable
Run ActiveX controls and plug-ins -- Enable
Script ActiveX controls marked safe for scripting -- Enable