Hi-
I am running Windows xp pro on a 2.0gig processor and recently bought a computer from a 'friend'. The computer he sold me has some serious issues with the video. Is not the cable or the video card-is somewhere in the motherboard. I am trying to put the hard drive and everything back into the other computer I was using(I am able to get a picture on the 'old' computer). The 'intel' screen comes up but then get a black screen with 'boot failure-system halted' at the top left of the screen.
I am able to get to BIOS and the IDE config says 'not installed' for the master drive. I am pretty sure I have everything plugged in correctly but wanted to see if there might be something else I am missing. I am very new to the 'hardware' side and would appreciate any help I can get.
thanks

Recommended Answers

All 15 Replies

Well, I really can't tell from your description what exactly you have done. Are you trying to put the hard drive from the broken computer into your other computer as a second drive? Is the XP OS your current operating system in your Working computer? or is that from the broken computer?. If you can't see the drive in the bios, there are several possibilities. How big is the drive? How old is the computer you're trying to put it into? If you're adding it as a second drive, you probably need to reset the drive jumpers on the drive itself to clear a conflict. If it's a big drive and you're putting it into an old PC, your pc's bios may not be able to read drives that big. Give more specifics, and perhaps we can give you more explicit answers.

The hard drive is an 80gig and yes-it is going from the 'broken' computer to the one I was using before getting the 'broken' one.
Trying to put it in the computer as the master drive and I have that connected correctly. I hadn't thought to look at the drive switch. Will do that when I get home from work.
It is a drive that was never in the 'old' computer. I had a 40 gig in there.