I recently tried to install a second hard drive to my system running Windows XP Professional. I am studying IT and wanted to play around with partitioning, permissions, etc. The first hard drive is a 250 G WD SATA-300 with NTFS. The second hard drive is a Seagate 250 G EIDE formatted with NTFS.

When I first installed the second drive, it had jumpers set and the computer kept looking at my floppy as the first boot device. When I finally realized what was going on (I'm new at this), I removed the jumpers and reset the boot sequence in CMOS. Now it boots to my C drive with the OS on it. However, before it boots, it comes up with a message saying that "the C drive has errors on it and must be checked for consistency. Please run CHKDSK."

This message started the first time I tried to boot the system after installing the second hard drive, even before fixing the jumper settings. It will not go away. I press a key and it skips the checking disk part, but what is going on and why does this keep happening?

Also, when the computer does boot up to the desktop, a message with a balloon pops up in the lower right hand corner saying that "The file or directory C:\WINDOWS\Prefetch\NWIZ.EXE-2DOF9FBC.pf is corrupt and unreadable. Please run the CHKDSK utility." What does this mean? I haven't been able to find out anything about it.

Is there anyone that might be able to help me clear this up? I'm hoping to clear it up so that I can install my XP system on a second computer without having to wait another 4 months to do it. Thanks for your help in advance. Bert

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

so run the chkdsk and get it over with ,right click on the harddrive icon in mycomputer and go to properties/ tools and check to do a chkdsk and fix errors ,reboot computer ,don't hit a key let it run run the check disk