2nd attempt....

I am new to Daniweb and hope I am posting my question in the appropriate category. I am not an IT engineer, but an aeronautical engineer seeking to upgrade my Windows XP Home Edition to Windows XP Pro so I can load and run CATIA V5 (a 3D drafting software).

I've searched on the web to find out the difference between an XP Pro full up version and an XP Pro upgrade and don't underestand the difference to determine which one I need.

I have a HP Pavillion 061 that came preloaded with Windows XP Home Edition, 5.1.2600 service Pack 2 build 2600, system 32 but no software disk.

Questions:
1) Because I already have Windows XP, do I just need the Windows XP Pro Upgrade or do I need the Windows XP Pro full version? It's a $100 difference.
2) Do I get the service pack 2 or service pack 3?

Also, I read in wikipedia that MS will be terminating retail sales of the Windows XP Service Pack 2 on the 30th of this month.

3) So does that mean that after the end of this month I won't be able to buy Windows XP Pro Service Pack 2 or I won't be able to buy any Windows XP Pro?

If anyone can help answer my questions, I would greatly appreciate it.

Kindly yours,
mareklh

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

Hi Marek, welcome to Daniweb.

I would say, for the convenience factor get a retail copy of XP Pro. That way if you have a machine failure, u have a system CD that you can boot from and so on. Actually what you might want to do is call MSFT and ask if the Upgrade CD would give you the same tools (i.e. to repair faults, install Windows components, etc). For the extra money, trust me it's saving urself a lot of hassle in the future.

As for June 30, read here for more info. You will still be able to get copies for months still I suspect. And you can still get loads of support.

And as for SP3, if you're not into experimenting with OSs, then don't worry about that for now, just stick with the SP2 release.

Hope that helps, anything else, feel free to ask.