yeh ive been having problems with the speed of my computer, its really slow and was never this slow. when i open up windows task manager its shows a massive page file usage, and to be honest i have no idea what this is. it always shows a low CPU usage though unless im downloading something. if you need my computer specs here they are : Packard Bell, IMEDIA 5XXX (range), 5077 (model), 256mb of RAM (which isnt ideal), 60GB of memory, Pentium (R) 4 CPU 2.66 GHz. thats all i can find out as im no expert and ive got this off my casing and computer itself. any ideas? and would 3/4 of a GB more RAM help out at all? cheers

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

hi olibmx15 if this started happening recently i think it could be a virus/spyware. Try running a scan for viruses and spyware. Remember to make sure that your definitions are up to date. If you don't have anti virus or anti spyware software try AVG and Spybot S&D. Good Luck and let us know of the outcome.

hi Jhonnyboy, thanks for the advice, i ran a a check with the norton anitvirus software i already had installed and everything seemed fine. just to make sure i used the symantec online computer scanner and everything was reported as safe. seems strange to me. if you need the list of programs i run here it is: Limewire, Windows Live Messenger, Itunes, Microsoft Office and Norton Internet Security. cheers

Howdy Folks