I'm a newbie and I hope I've run this in the right forum.
My pc runs xp home sp3. Browser used is FireFox. My router is a D-Link, DSL-534T, ADSL2/2+. One other pc is connected for gaming and school. The problem is it worked fine one evening and when I started my pc the next morning the router does not work. We have not had any trouble with the router for months since we bought it. I have run all kinds of scans for virus, pc diagnostics and everything checks out fine. I have pushed default until I feel defaulted myself and it does not work. The power light is on, the status and adsl/link lights are off, my lan light is on and another lan light is on and that light is not connected to a pc at all. (I disconnected the other pc to work on this and that light is off) I am in Poland so this is a European router. Is there a command that will 'wake up' the router or cause default to work? I have backup data to recheck the router's webpage if I can get there. Any help or advice is appreciated. Thanks (oh, our IT guy that sold us this simply looked at it and said that 'it didn't work' and tried to sell us new one.)

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

It sounds as though the sales guy might be right. BUT first, try this:

(I know you have said you have pressed default...)

unplug everything from the router. including wireless stuff if there is any (turn off wireless devices if you have to.). find the hard reset button. press it in for at least 15 seconds. (you will need a paperclip or something) the router will reboot. plug your internet in, and wait 30 sec to 1 min. your adsl light should blink then come on. plug in one pc to the router. another light should come on. run network setup wizard on that computer as follows:
(XP- other systems will be different but similar)