Okay, I'm a complete amateur at this. But I'll give it a shot because I'm desperate for help.

We recently moved to a new place. The guy from Rogers (the internet company) came to our place today to set up the new internet. The modem is connected to the family computer, and it works fine.

But I also have a laptop. Before we moved, I used a wireless connection, and it worked fine. Until today, I had no wireless connection because the internet wasn't set up. Today, it said that the wireless connection is found, so I connected to it, but the internet's not working.

The wireless router, D-Link, is just plugged in with nothing connected to it. Do I have to connect something to the router from the modem? Or something? PLEASE help me: I'm a complete amateur at this and I have no idea what I'm doing. My laptop and the family computer are both Windows XP.

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Hello,

Is the internet connection made directly to the family computer? If so, you will need to plug the internet connection from the Roger's device to the wireless router, and then connect using another wire, the router to the family computer. You will then need to see if your wireless works.

There is a good chance that your wireless is working properly, but from the sound of it, your installation is lacking the wireless router from being on the internet.

CABLE MODEM --> WIRELESS ROUTER ---------------->  Family Computer
			  |--------------> Wireless computer

I did that, but it still doesn't work.

When I disconnected the internet connection cord from the family computer and it said, on the bottom right-hand corner beside the clock, something like local area connection unplugged.

Okay, so from the very beginning, what I did was connect the USB ... cord thingy from the Rogers modem to the part of my router where it says 'USB' underneath. When I do that, the 'WAN' light lights up.

Then, I took another wire and connected it to the computer with the router.