Hello, I am currently building an HTPC for a client that will be strictly watching videos; both downloaded, and DVD / Blue ray, and im looking for some suggestions, as i have never built a HTPC before.

Current hardware configuration:
Asus M4A88TD-M AM3 DDR3
AMD Athlon 2 x4 640 3.0ghz
4 gb kingston memory (2x2gb)
500w Cooler master PSU
Western Digital 2tb Green SATA (for storage AND operating system)

i was just going to partition the HD and give the client 80 or 100gb for the OS, and install windows xp media center or XP pro.

few questions:
-is the quad core going to be over kill?
-should he get a seperate HD for the OS?
-which operating system should i use?

any tips / suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

thanks in advance

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

i recommend a separate, fast HD for the OS and a LARGE HD for content storage

Instead of 1 HDD with 2 TB, you could choose to use 2 HDD's of 1 (or 2) TB and put them in RAID 0. This will give you an extra boost in read/write time without the extra expenses of using solid-states.

>> is the quad core going to be over kill?

Yes, but who cares. This will ensure that the system stays "up-to-date" for a few extra years.

>> should he get a seperate HD for the OS

Nah. If he's just using it to watch movies, this should be fine. I run Windows 7 and Ubuntu simultaneous and still have more then enough speed to play the newest games. (2x 1TB RAID0)

>> which operating system should i use?

Windows 7 perhaps? XP is really getting outdated these days, you don't want Vista. Or perhaps something free like one of the many Linux distro's?

thanks for the input.

im not a fan of RAID 0 (personally, i dont think it should be labelled RAID anyways because it's not redundant at all) i am, however, a huge fan of raid 1. i know there's no performance boost, but it's at least a fail-safe way of doing things.