Dear all

i am a novice in hardware aspect, due to my study i need to master this part. my question is what is internal RAM and exteral RAM, where is located in motherboad?

seconde one is what is off-chip and on-chip? where is located in motherboad?

thanks a lot

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

Are you talking about the Microcontrollers?

As far as I know there is just RAM on the motherboard of a computer. Internal and external RAM can be found when you are talking about microcontrollers.

on-chip refers to any memory (Code, RAM, or other) that physically exists on the microcontroller itself

External RAM is RAM memory that resides off-chip. This is often in the form of standard static RAM or flash RAM.

Are you talking about the Microcontrollers?

As far as I know there is just RAM on the motherboard of a computer. Internal and external RAM can be found when you are talking about microcontrollers.

on-chip refers to any memory (Code, RAM, or other) that physically exists on the microcontroller itself

External RAM is RAM memory that resides off-chip. This is often in the form of standard static RAM or flash RAM.

thanks friend

the on-chip memory actually is located inside CPU, off-chip is located outside CPU, but it is not DRAM, off-chip and on-chip are all SRAM, so for external RAM, i am not sure it is off-chip memory or DRAM. thanks.

thanks friend

the on-chip memory actually is located inside CPU, off-chip is located outside CPU, but it is not DRAM, off-chip and on-chip are all SRAM, so for external RAM, i am not sure it is off-chip memory or DRAM. thanks.

another question is where is smart buffer,and how to work?thanks

thanks friend