This morning I got up to use my laptop and it suddenly went out and has been out all day. I've tried all kinds of methods including holding down the power button to "drain" the power. This is the first time this has happened so are there any ideas you can give before I spend money taking it to a technician.

Also, I'm a web designer and I have a lot of valuable and important client files and my own "personal" files and documents on the computer, if the laptop is dead with no hope for revival, how can I retrieve that data?

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

i also have a thinkpad laptop and occassionally mine also acts up in the way you describe. i have found that it tends to be a charge problem. if i leave it on charge overnight it'll be ok and useable in the morning..

if you laptop is dead and buried ... fret not about your data. you can obtain a hard drive enclosure kit which should allow you to get yur data off.

i also have a thinkpad laptop and occassionally mine also acts up in the way you describe. i have found that it tends to be a charge problem. if i leave it on charge overnight it'll be ok and useable in the morning..

if you laptop is dead and buried ... fret not about your data. you can obtain a hard drive enclosure kit which should allow you to get yur data off.

I left in on charge overnight but that still didn't work :sad: BUt thanks for the advice about the enclosure kit. :cheesy:

have you tried removing the battery and just booting from the mains supply? might be a faulty battery.

if not i would look at a charging/power circuit problem within the actual motherboard itself

This morning I got up to use my laptop and it suddenly went out and has been out all day. I've tried all kinds of methods including holding down the power button to "drain" the power. This is the first time this has happened so are there any ideas you can give before I spend money taking it to a technician.