Hi,
I am a teacher in the North Eastern part of Thailand. This morning, while booting up the classroom computer, the keyboard did not power up. The mouse was functioning, I accessed the device manager, and saw that the keyboard was unrecognized. After some fiddeling around I mistakingly disabled the USB hub for the mouse. NOW, I can't do anything. I am using my personal Mac right now.
Sooo, is there anyone out there who can help me figure thins thing out. My resources are a bit limited in regards of getting other keyboards, etc.
Thanks a million...

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

Is this machine, connected to any domain controller?? I some cases the keyboard donst get recoganised you might well have to restart the computer once again. In order to recoganise. Do you see any power light on the keyboard i.e the num lock key on your keyboard lit up?

Alternatively start your computer with the safe mode and see if you can do something from there!

ssharish

Hey Sharish,
Thank you for the quick reply; No, there is no light on the keyboard, even when I restart the damn thing. The mouse does light up during the booting, but then goes limp...I tried doing some stuff while booting but nothing happened, since the keyboard does not have any power.

Well, if you dont see your num light on the keyboard, then the power stuff to that key board is not give. Is it possible to check that keyboard with the different computer and see if your see any LED's lit up.

This is to just make sure that if the problem is with your keyboard or the CPU. If it does get a light lit up on your keyboard after connecting on to a different CPU then the problem is with the CPU, especially with the PS/2 or the USB which ever keyboard connector your using.

ssharish