This is my first time posting here, so be gentle.

I have one computer loaded with XP Pro, SP 2. I had one 60GB HD, and added another 60 GB as a slave. I have an old DOS-based game I wanted to run (Stonekeep). It runs best in DOS, but I've had it up in Win 95 and 98, but it's quarky.

I wanted to configure my system as a dual boot, with DOS and XP Pro. My reading tells me that I have to load DOS first, then XP. I've loaded a lot of stuff on my computer, and would hate to lose all of that. I do have an external 160 GB HD that I can back up to, but I'd like to avoid that. So, my questions are:

1. Is there any way to partition my HD and load DOS onto that partition without have to reload XP?

2. If I do back up the XP HD, then perform the DOS and XP installs, will the restore from the backup overwrite the DOS?

3. Will the restore reload all of my programs that I've backed up, or will they have to be reinstalled?

Thanks for any help.

suRoot commented: good stuff +1

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

you mean bootorder of device channels, you still have to boot off of Master though? just select which ide cable it's on

ok when you install DOS onto a drive give it a partition of about 2gb it won't suport more depending on which version of dos, you will also want to install DOS-shell otherwise you'll be limited to creating files, coppying files changing dir, creating dir's and a few other kernal commands. Yes, you will have to back up your old files, can't you copy them to the other hard drive?

a few steps i know you'll have to do::

Crack out a 95 era Disk and boot up the PC (go to bios and make sure seek floppy is enabled and make sure floppy is the 1st boot drive)

When it's in type FDISK into the command
then you'll be giving various formatting options, go to delete partions and delete in the following order:-
Extended partitions
Logical Partitions
primary partitions (you may not have all of these but delete them all)