First i would like to thank all who is helping.
Dell 8400 Windows XP - No floppy drive.
(currently on forum with some old computer)

This morning some how i messed up my computer and im clueless(im a noob). It wont start. I have messed up my computer before(last year) and i end up reformatting after receiving help. By going into F2 Setup at window start up, i forgot where to go :o and what keys to press and it reformat back to what it was when i first got the computer. (like reformat into original setting to reinput info into your computer and stuff). Anybody know what keys to press after going into F2 and... forgot which section to go to press those keys and it reformats?

or heres the problem :/...

when i restart up, its got that 5 choice of
Safe mode
Safe mode with networking
Safe mode with command prompt
Last known good config
Start windows normally
(if safe mode it comes with stuff like:
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\windows\system32\drivers\(whatever name).sys <-- by whatever i mean the lots of those but different names.sys --- the other choice either end up restarting to same spot or just blank screen ---)

If Using operating system (reinstallation cd), its got continue, repair, or exit. first 2 option comes up with "Setup did not find any hard disk drives installed in your computer." Dont know how to get to system restore without getting window started or dont know how to fix this. I tried scanning the forum for similiar issue but i guess i dont have the luck.

thanks for reading and hope ppl will post on how to fix it.

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\windows\system32\drivers\(whatever name).sys

Whats the last driver name (.sys) on which windows stucks ?? That device might be creating problems for you ... unplug all periphrals like modem, lan card etc and then boot again.

For formatting you can boot from a windows xp cd and the setup will guide you through a new install of xp.