I am NOT a expert on the computer! I AM familiar with MS config..who can tell me what should be checked on STARTUP and what should not., I dont want un necessary stuff running yet I dont want to make a major problem by un checking too many things! I would like to know about SERVICE and STARTUP..

VS a machine with XP, the Vista is on the same network & seems much slower..

Can anyone help & explain...Yes I do remove temp files & de frag!

Ty

Recommended Answers

All 15 Replies

RAM, CPU speed and disk RPM are the three factors affecting load times as much as what to load.

Rather than keeping it vague which makes our replies vague, you should do the following:

1/
Tell us your configuration on VISTA bearing in mind what I've said above.

2/
Tell us what's in your start up list.

3/
Is your XP system the same RAM and CPU power and disk RPM as the Vista? Like for like is a good principle.

I am NOT a expert on the computer! I AM familiar with MS config..who can tell me what should be checked on STARTUP and what should not., I dont want un necessary stuff running yet I dont want to make a major problem by un checking too many things! I would like to know about SERVICE and STARTUP..

VS a machine with XP, the Vista is on the same network & seems much slower..

Can anyone help & explain...Yes I do remove temp files & de frag!

Ty

Is your Vista PC setup as a wireless connection and the XP is the Host?
If this is your setup, then Vista will be slower.
As far as start-up programs in "msconfig", the only programs that should start with Windows would be any Anti-virus, Spyware and Firewall programs.
For running processes/services give this a careful read;
http://www.blackviper.com/

RAM, CPU speed and disk RPM are the three factors affecting load times as much as what to load.

Rather than keeping it vague which makes our replies vague, you should do the following:

1/
Tell us your configuration on VISTA bearing in mind what I've said above.

2/