hey guys,
im new here and this is my first question.

my pc runs a bit slow and im sick of trying all those system care products that people claim to work. ive tried so many but it just seems worthless. i know my best bet is to reinstall windows clean but i dont have an external hard drive and cd's will be take alot of time.

so i was wondering if some of you gurus out there can maybe spare some time and tell me where i can learn exactly how the registry works? alll those DWords and how it relates to your programs. what happens when you delete one of those keys and how you can manually clean your registry.
ive noticed some programs that i uninstalled still have all their keys in the registry. i just dont want to delete them coz im scared. lol
is there any resources that explain exactly how it works and how to manually fix it?
im studying fo rmy CCNA to take the test next year. yaya."-)

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Have a look here;

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=How+Windows+Registry+Works

Here's a few more in case you didn't like that one;

http://www.easydesksoftware.com/rworks.htm

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/256986

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windows_Registry

and lastly;

http://lmgtfy.com/?q=How+To+Avoid+LMGTFY

thanks for the lmgtfy. i'm not like most people and just ask stuff. i have googled it and i had some cool links, but i didnt find any that was explaining it in detail. i still don't know if im gona delete keys.
google is my best friend and i know how to use him. i was just asking you guys coz maybe you knew of some sites that i missed.

but thanks anyway.:-)

Basically the registry stores data for users programs and the OS. Everything from options, to file associations. In comparison, UNIX-like systems use text-files instead of one centralized registry.