I am trying to set up my computer so that I can have both Redhat and Win XP on the same harddrive. I already had winxp on my computer when I decided to do this. Here is what I did:

-I used Partition Magic to create a partition after the windows XP partition and also a swap partition before the winxp partition for the bootloader.

-I then installed RedHat 9.0 on the Linux partition that I created and GRUB on the bootloader partition.

The problem is that when I boot up my system, it goes into GRUB but I cannot load winXP. It is not in the list. All I see in the list is RedHat in the list. Is there a way that I can add winXP to that list? Did I do something wrong in setting this up? I have never done anything like this before so I probably did something wrong. This was mostly just for a learning experience. Thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

Alright, well I might have an idea on what happened. I threw in my xp disk and when I got to where I could see the partitions I saw that the partition I created for Linux was all free space. It seems as if Redhat might have installed on the partition that I had my winxp on. Is this at all possible? When I was installing redhat I did get the option of which partition to install it on and I did select the one I made for LINUX. Any ideas?

We did this at school and I believe you're supposed to install Linux first then install Windows XP. It worked just fine that way.

ok...well I guess I could try that. I was hoping to be able to do this without having to reformat and take all that time reinstalling both again. But I guess I have nothing better to do. :-|

Eh, if it's not working the way you want it there shouldn't be any harm. Tinkering around is fun, but time consuming.