Does this work? I'm experiencing local only problem in Vista. I'm not a computer expert, so im a bit afraid to do something which may corrupt my system intirely. Is this the final solution to the problem?

Nothing is absolute, however after 9 hrs of browsing that day, this solution worked for me. None of the steps in my solution can corrupt your system anymore than those registry mods.

This solution worked like a charm for me. It also saved me the headache of formatting.

If anything, try running cmd prompt as administrator (rightclick on the shortcut and select "Run as Administrator) followed by entering "netsh winsock reset' followed by restarting your computer.

Tried mpeters13 recipe, however still "local only" and no internet. I guess there are versions of this problem caused by different malfunctions in Vista. I have also installed the latest firmware in my wrt54g router, however with no luck. Also tried to connect with a cable, still no luck. My troubleshooting have convinced me that the problem lies intirely in windows vista. My XP laptop connects flawlessly to internet.
I will try to connect directly into the modem, just to rule out a compatibility problem with vista and my router. Hmmm, is it possible that my cable-modem (terayon) could be incompatible with vista?
Well, will post here if i encounter any solutions.
Thanks for all help!

Tried mpeters13 recipe, however still "local only" and no internet. I guess there are versions of this problem caused by different malfunctions in Vista. I have also installed the latest firmware in my wrt54g router, however with no luck. Also tried to connect with a cable, still no luck. My troubleshooting have convinced me that the problem lies entirely in windows vista. My XP laptop connects flawlessly to internet.
I will try to connect directly into the modem, just to rule out a compatibility problem with vista and my router. Hmmm, is it possible that my cable-modem (terayon) could be incompatible with vista?