I need a geek! I shut down one night and the next morning when I powered up, I got "Drive read error" cntl+alt+dlt to restart. It does nothing, justs goes back to that every time I restart. Can't boot into safe mode but I can get into the Bios. Booted from XP PRO disc and tried to repair. It goes through the motions but when it's finished, I get the read disc error again. I put in a new cable,checked all connections, reseated the rdram, did chkdsk,fixmbr, cursed, banged head on desk, installed and formatted a new drive and still get "DRIVE READ ERROR"! I put the old drive in an external case and hooked into my laptop. I was able to view all my files and see all programs. I'm not a pro, but I don't think it's the drive. I've read it could be the Bios is messed up but reset to default doesn't help. Drives spin up,lights come on, fans work, does anyone think it could be my intell D850gb board? I need to fix this "on the cheep" or it will be time for a full rebuild and upgrade and I don't really want to do that right now. Again, it will not boot into xp pro or "safe mode". I power up, get the intell screen and then strait to the "Drive read error" bla, bla, bla. I put the old drive back in attempted a repair again and still have the same problem. Any ideas?

Recommended Answers

All 13 Replies

you can update the bios, connect the drive to another sata port, but first of all - back up all the data that's important to you.

You've done all the right things and you've proved the drive is fine. I assume it's a PC not a laptop that's giving trouble since you externally connected the drive to a laptop.

So - cables don't just go phut unless they've been pinched for a while; is that it? Could it be a PSU problem on the particular power connector?

you can update the bios, connect the drive to another sata port, but first of all - back up all the data that's important to you.