Hi,

I'm a developer by trade but I've done some networking in the past (mostly buying and creating machine specifications but also a bit of firewall management and AD policies,) In a previous company I was even Manager of the Systems department (Developers and IT guys)

Anyway I've recently joined a small ( 6 person,) company and so it is upto everyone to do what they can. Currently we have a wired Windows AD network with a 2003 SBE server as the Domain controller.

We all have smart phones that the company pays the bill for and because we spend time out on site, they are all configured to read off of our Exchange server. Trouble is that they are running up big bills with the 3G data. So one of our directors (my boss,) wants me to see if I can set up a secure wireless network to give the smart phones internet access when they are in the office so that they wont use their 3G to get data. It is only to provide Internet access not direct access to our network and as such if we can have it as a seperate network but sharing our internet connection that would be great.

There is a wireless DSL router coming in from our ISP (which seams to have been reconfigured as a bridge,) with four ports in the back connected to a Zyxel firewall which is in turn connected to our network. The firewall settings on the ISP side are configured to let it log on to the ISP domain with our ISP user account and to automatically obtian IP and gateway settings i.e. no fixed IP... My boss tell me that the techies from the ISP set this up in order to let us use our firewall??? and doesn't want me to touch the ISP router or the firewall if I can help it.