Hello Community,
I was wondering if there is a way to use some kind of local server such as Wamp, Xampp, easyPHP etc... something like that and set it up so everyone on the same network can access the database on the server.

The server will be running on a dedicated server computer (A computer stored in a room running the server), an online database is not an option it needs to be a lan database.

F.Y.I: I have never worked with servers before so I don't know how they work I only know what they look like so I don't know if all servers have one computer running it all.

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

You don't need web server software unless you want to use a browser to connect to the database. If you write your own program such as with C/C++, C#, VB.NET, etc all the program needs is the ip address of the computer that hosts the database server. If however you are writing a browser-based program then the hosting computer may need a web server program such as wamp (which includes mysql, apache2 and php).

First of all the server is running linux or windows ?
For linux you can use the lampp which is provided by the same company that created the xampp. To access the server from another computer, type the ip of the server in the browser so you will be able to access the xampp as a normal user. To access files you need an FTP software like filezilla.

F.Y.I: I have never worked with servers before so I don't know how they work I only know what they look like so I don't know if all servers have one computer running it all.