I feel pretty silly posting this message, as I've been a firmware engineer since 1984! I have plenty of experience going inside a desktop PC. My laptop experience is quite limited though.

I've got an old laptop, a Gateway Solo P3C, 133 MHZ, that I am putting into a condition that it can be used to get online, very basically. It would be nice to put in a NIC card to allow for high speed Internet, but that's in a day or two. The hard drive is incredibly small, and FULL, so I'll get it a new hard drive and do the BIOS upgrade.

It was purchased used. I do not know the details. It was obviously used to get online in a work environment. It is in very good condition for its age.

It has a modem card installed, connected to COM3. I've looked and looked at the case, and opened everything I can find to open, looking for an RJ-11 connector. I cannot find it! Can someone tell me how to hook the phone cable to this PC even to test it?

Thanks,
Beth Harper

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

The Gateway P3C is an old one - so I'm speaking from memory since I have not come into contact with one of these in years. As I remembered it, this system does not have a built-in modem, so when you say it has a modem card installed, I'm assuming that you're talking about a PCMCIA modem, which is probably missing a dongle (the dongle is the part that contains a phone jack connector on one end, with the other end having a flat connector that plugs into the opening on the pcmcia card) and hence, no phone jack :o