Periodically I get a pop-up down by the clock that reads..Local Area Connection..Network Cable Unpluged. This occurs on or off line, with no dicernible patern. So far I haven't noticed any ill effects associated with it, but I'm still a novice. Any ideas of just what I've got happening here?

For some good comic relief, try going to Alice Schubach's Home Page, go to Microsoft Bashing, and scroll down to Hidden Windows Settings.

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Hi,

There's been a few topics on here about the problem you're having. Use the Search feature:
http://www.daniweb.com/techtalkforums/search.php?

and enter the keywords
network cable unplugged

as your search criteria. Let us know if the unformation in there helps or not, please.

Hi,

There's been a few topics on here about the problem you're having. Use the Search feature:
http://www.daniweb.com/techtalkforums/search.php?

and enter the keywords
network cable unplugged

as your search criteria. Let us know if the unformation in there helps or not, please.

Hi Catweazle, I went there and read it but I don't see any connection to my problem. I'm not networking, I'm strictly snailophone line to the modem in my computer. I do appreciate the thought, any others?

The uninstall or disable the network card or onboard LAN on your PC. That message is definitely related to the network connection, not to the modem's internet connection. You have a network device loaded and enabled, it's looking for the network, it doesn't find one and you get the error message.

right-click My Computer and choose Properties. On the hardware tab choose Device Manager. Right-click the Network Adaptor and choose Disable.

The uninstall or disable the network card or onboard LAN on your PC. That message is definitely related to the network connection, not to the modem's internet connection. You have a network device loaded and enabled, it's looking for the network, it doesn't find one and you get the error message.