Hi - I wonder if I should be here! What happened is that I have a new (3 wk old) Compaq Presario laptop with Windows 7 and it's worked fine so far (and is working now) but a couple of times it has refused to boot up, first from Shutdown, then again today from Hibernation. Battery 100% charged and AC connection fine. Sorry, I should really write all this in a forum. I'll finish this first.

I'm not a techie, although I've been using PCs since Windows 95 days. I do a lot of digital photography and sound recording as a keen amateur - much of my desktop use is for that, as well as reading news, blogs, updating my own website etc.

Anyway I googled with this bootup problem and that led me here, but I see I'm amongst advanced users and knowledgeable Hi-Tech people so I feel like a guy who's wandered into a senior level seminar room by mistake!

But hello anyway -- the website looks very welcoming and I feel kinda at home here even if I shouldn't ...

cheers
Brian

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Mistake -- should be since BEFORE Windows 95 days!

Welcome to the forums.

As for not belonging here, no such thing, there's lots of knowledge to be gained from these forums and even 'newbies' can do so.

As for the laptop issue... Periodically the one laptop in my home network (of 2 PC's a Mac and a Dell laptop) has a similar issue where it will inexplicably hibernate or freeze up and a reboot fails to properly start it up again (no screen input, no noticeable interface or reaction to keypress).

However, said laptop also had some rather unpleasant malware issues (courtesy of the fact that it is used regularly by someone who doesn't always follow safe web surfing practices) and since cleaning it up has not had this bootup issue. Part of the problem was that it had the modern day equivalent of a boot sector virus which required some additional steps to get rid of and which was causing issues on reboot of the system.