Hi.
I hope question fits in this section.

I am looking to buy a laptop. Going to use it for studies and work.
Specs I'm looking for are:

• procesor: core 2 due up to cheapest i3
  • RAM: 3-4 GB DDR3
  • HDD: 320 GB or more
  • videocard: doesn't really play a role, can be a low-end integrated card. Not going to play games on it.
  • OS: Linux (because windows adds to much to the price, while Linux comes for free)

Obviously, most software I use is windows specific. As a University student I have access to a free copy of Windows 7, as well as some Adobe products. Not sure about versions, but I'd have a guess I can only get student's editions. Not completely sure.

Question is, what do I do with the laptop once I've bought it? Options I have:

• uninstall Linux and installl Windows 7.
  • keep Linux, install Virtualbox. Then install Windows 7 on virtual drive. Then install software I need on this virtual OS. Would that work? If it works, how much slower would working be compared to a regular windows 7?
  • keep Linux and install Windows 7, have dual OS

Which one would you suggest? Which one would be the easiest to do? I think I could easily mess up if I tried to uninstall Linux myself. Or is this really easy nowadays?

I don't mind having both OSes on my laptop. I had to use Ubuntu before, and it was good experience. I simply don't want to break my neck while trying to configure my favorite software to work on Linux.

Some of what I've writen might be absolutely wrong. I'm not a hardware savvy, and not good with OS's either :)

Shed some light please, I thank you in advance.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

I you want to use linux sometimes, and windows other times, then I think you should dual-boot.
If you want to use them both simultaneous, switching back and forth - then you should obviously run one of them in a virtual environment of some kind (I can't advise you on that since I only have experience with hyper-v /MS-server).