I've recently been looking into upgrading my computer, because it seems a waste to buy a new one when this one is only 2 years old and only really lacks RAM. Note that this is my first time planning something like this, but my father, who tinkered for years before settling on one computer, is there if I need him.

That being said, I've found conflicting information as to how much RAM my computer currently has. It is a Compaq Presario SR1603WM and the properties say it has 222 (or so, it's shut down right now so I can't double check) while the model specs say it has 256. My father suggested I open it and look at it, but I'd rather not if I don't have to, as it would be a hasle to do with its current placement.

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

The specs HERE seem to suggest this model comes with 256MB. I don't know why properties say 222MB, but my guess is that your onboard video has reserved some of it.

Since you mention it, my system has 1024MB (2x512) but says only 1.00 GB in properties. Never really thought too deeply about that before.

Whatever the case, more RAM and a graphics card would be a nice addition to that setup in my opinion (although a graphics card means deciding whether your power supply is up to it).

The specs HERE seem to suggest this model comes with 256MB. I don't know why properties say 222MB, but my guess is that your onboard video has reserved some of it.

Since you mention it, my system has 1024MB (2x512) but says only 1.00 GB in properties. Never really thought too deeply about that before.

Whatever the case, more RAM and a graphics card would be a nice addition to that setup in my opinion (although a graphics card means deciding whether your power supply is up to it).