Hi Guys,
I really hope you can help me with this as i'm going mad trying to find an answer.
It's quite a story and i will try and keep it short.
I have a HP laptop, and the operating system is windows XP, and it works on Service Pack 1

I have been using the laptop and AOL for the past 6 years and have NEVER had any problems until last Friday. I always just logged on through the AOL software but when i logged in on friday it just stalled at stage 3 checking password, and wouldn't connect.
I phoned AOL to see if they could help and they ran me through a lot of checks, modem and connections and stuff. In the end i was advised to uninstall all aol software and re-install which i did but this didn't help. I phoned AOL again the next day, and they advised that they thought the AOL software was corrupt in some way and i should connect through DiallBB, which is just a bridge that establishes the connection and then use Internet Explorer to surf the net, which all seemed fine. ( Just to let you know that i never used to use IE before.)
However everytime i try and view ANY web page it looks like it is connecting to the website as per the info at the bottom left hand corner ( connecting to i.e. www.bbc.co.uk) but the status bar just seems to stop after 3/4 green dots and the page will eventually say ( after a long, long time) that this page cannot be displayed.

My connection is fine it's running a 6mb I have tried other tests, like pinging websites in the command prompt and checking the connection and modem but NOTHING seems to be working. Everytime i check a website for ideas of what to look for it doesn't seem to fix it.
I have deleted all the Internet temporary files and the cookies, but nothing.

I have been onto a few sites and ran my computer through numerous checks, TCP/IP deletion and re-establish and similair.But nothing.

I'm not the best with computers but i know the basics and i really dont know how to fix it.