I'm brand new to the video editing world and I'm getting desperate. I made a decision to begin making my own DVDs for my seminars and students so after lots searching/shopping I invested, what for me is a small fortune, in a state of the art system. Until three weeks ago I'd never done any work with DVDs, video camera, or video editing software so bear with me if I sound like an idiot--I am.

Did a couple tests--captured some raw footage from my camera and tried to do some editing. Problem is I can't see any wmv, mpeg, or avi video clips--sound is fine. Initially the clips played sometimes, now they are not playing at all.

Here's what I've done in the way of troubleshooting (hope I remember it all).

Checked for all Windows updates--there were none that I did not already have.

Ran the Direct X diagnostics and it says it is functioning properly.

Was told by tech support folks where the system was built that Quicktime and Intervideo can cause an issue like that so (temporarily for troubleshooting purposes) to remove them. I did--nothing.

Tried viewing sample video that came with pre-installed programs and viewing sample video sent to me for troubleshooting. Can't view them. Sent my avi clip to someone else to see if he could view it--he could.

Uninstalled and reinstalled the ATI driver.

Based on stuff I've found via Google, I've installed g-spot, avicode, and video toolbox and used them to try to determine any trouble spots--did find that I needed a DV codec which I downloaded and installed but it made no difference.

Uninstalled and reinstalled WMP 9.

Reinstalled Quicktime. I can play avi files in quicktime.

Discovered the Windows Media Utility program and tried to view video in the File Editor--I can view wmv files in that program but not in Media Player or Ulead Movie Factory (supplied with the computer).

Also loaded WinAmp to see if a different player would work--no go.