Hi Everyone,

I am new to Windows 2003 Server, this is my first server and I need help with two tasks. The first is I want to transfer a exisiting php/mysql website I have on another server, to a windows 2003 server I have @ home.

Server 1
Hosts the website domain.com*

New Server (Will be used as a development/backup server)
- host.domain.com subdomain will be pointed to new server's IP (Already done)

The second issue I need resolved is setting up a domain controller. I have attempted to setup a domain controller. But can't get other PC's to join the domain. I would like to create it so users outside my local network could join the domain, so I could centrally manage pc's

If anyone could assist me in resolving these two issues remotely, please contact me via PM. I have msn messenger :) so that might be the best way to contact me, so if you have msn as well, PM me it, and I will add you :)

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

the forum is here for other to see and learn from the troubleshooting done publicly.

as for the xAMP service - Apache, PHP and MySQL are very easy to install under windows. just look at the XAMPP packega from apachefriends, or get them separately and install. the web is full of tutorials. no need for IIS there.

about the domain issue:
setting up a domain in w2k3 is a breeze - just type dcpromo in the command line and the wizard will do everything.

external domain users might be slightly harder to implement, because that will mean you either stick the server out into the internet with the RPC port open (not wise at all) or set up VPN services, for the clients do dial in before the log onto the domain.
setting up win2k3 as a VPN+Radius server is easily googlable as well.

the question is - what do you need external users to join the domain for?

the forum is here for other to see and learn from the troubleshooting done publicly.

Apache, PHP and MySQL are very easy to install under windows.

about the domain issue: