Hello, my name is Gregg. I enjoy troubleshooting computers cause it's like a treasure hunt. But sometimes I can use a map -- hopefully someone can be my map.

I fix computers here and there for friends, though I'm no expert. It's amazing how many more laptops I get to fix than desktops. Well, back to the matter at hand.

I got this Gateway Laptop (Model MA7) with Windows XP Media Center Edition 2005 ver 5.1 build 2600 SP2 from my girlfriend's grandfather and I can't quite get to the bottom of the issue. Basically, it freezes or just doesn't load windows completely. I don't have much on the Specs, but I know it has an Intel Centrino Duo processor and 1gb RAM.

I've tried the various opyions in the F8 menu, the most successful being Safe Mode with networking, only because I seemingly have the most time to look through as much as I can before it freezes again.

If you try to load windows normally, it sits on the windows logo forever (tried waiting 1.5 hours, it didn't change). Last known good configuration does the same thing.

Well, here's what I've gotten to, and I'm trying to think of where to check next. I can get it to boot into safe mode with networking, and I ctrl+alt+del quickly and run msconfig. Now I have as much time as I need, until I hit certain buttons. I've disabled all the startup programs, but if I hit okay or apply, it freezes. If I try to change the startup selection to Diagnostic, I can click the bubble but if I hit OK or Apply, it freezes. But only that window -- I can alt+tab to the task manager. If I go to the processes tab in the task manager at any time, task manager freezes.

If I go to event viewer from the tools tab in the msconfig window, I can launch it, but it freezes so far 60% of the time. When I got event viewer to come up, I could look through the stuff, but if I went to look at any of the errors, it once again froze.